Favourite less popular Linux applications


This is just a sharing about my favourite software applications which are less popular comparing to others.

Linux distribution: Arch Linux vs Ubuntu, Linux Mint.
Reason: Highly customisable.

Desktop environment: Xfce4 vs GNOME, KDE, Cinnamon, Mate.
Reason: Traditional desktop look, lightweight yet feature-rich.

Programmer text editor: jEdit, Emacs vs Sublime Text, Atom
Reason: jEdit – Cross-platform, unlimited window split
Reason: Emacs – Cool!

Text editor: medit
Reason: Tab view, start by opening last opened files.

Video player: SMPlayer vs VLC
Reason: Subtitles look better. Can open various file formats including RMVB.

Video editor: Shotcut vs Pitivi, Handbrake (video transcoder)
Reason: Easier to split or resize the video.

Audio player: Audacious vs Banshee, Rhythmbox
Reason: I don’t like library concept. I just want to play the musics I like by drag-and-drop from my file manager.

Image browser/organizer: XnViewMP vs F-Spot, Shotwell
Reason: I don’t like library concept as above. I just want to view my images from any folder that I stored by images/photos.

Image viewer: Viewnior
Reason: Can zoom in/out by mouse scroll, can move the photo view by mouse drag.

Chinese input method: Fcitx with RIME with self-written Wubi + Pinyin input method vs Fcitx Pinyin, IBus Pinyin, Sogou Pinyin
Reason: Fcitx works better when IBus was upgrading, so I stick to Fcitx. And RIME is just so customisable that I write my own input method.

Synchronize and backup: FreeFileSync
Reason: Best ever synchronize and backup software. I can’t find any alternative solution.

Application launcher: GNOME Do
Reason: I was using Executor in Windows. And just use any replacement on Linux, and now I get this.

File browser: Nemo vs Nautilus (GNOME file manager), Dolphin, Thunar (Xfce4 default file browser)
Reason: Previously using Nautilus, but when it introduced type as search, then I prefer the older feature, that is why I stick to Nemo.

Calculator: SpeedCrunch
Reason: I prefer expression calculator. And it is cross-platform.

Leave a Reply

