In the end… it’s still… #google, ^_^


just a small notes to share… well, not everybody will agree with me, or everybody will have the same taste…
see, I do write my journal, or whatever you call it… now, I’ve revereted back to write my own real “private” journal… ie. Less things to be shared in the public, but purely, just for my own consumption… ^_^, with the thought of… one day, when I’m not in this real world anymore, my family, my children, will read it… if they will like to know more about me, about my life… ya, for me, and for my family…
anyway…
so, I’ve used quite a couple of tools available, (mainly free)
I used outlook’s journal before,
then, I changed to #Microsoft #OneNotes,
I love this tools, however, it’s licensed, ie. Not free, and it’s only for windows PC, but I’ve some mobile devices, and I’m using a linux machine mainly,
so, I was looking up and down, trying to find the best tools to use… for my journaling…
I tried some tools on linux too, but then, I don’t like the feature, or simply, the look of it…
I used #evernote, I love that, next to Microsoft OneNotes, honestly, and I started to put in a lot a lot of notes, regardless it’s my own writing, or notes from the web, or parenting notes, or whatsoever… but then, being a non-paying user, I face another challenge, ie. The data capacity allowance every month, and I don’t like it… ah haha… mainly to be blamed, me, myself… cos, I was dumping so much so much data, and so many so many graphic stuff in there… and it ran out of disk space very fast… so, I was thinking, “hm… this is not a long term solution…”,
then, I started to look around on my idevice, after trying a few of them, I used #Journalized for a while, whatever I’m writing, it’ll be sync’ed to the evernote, again, I like it… but then again, in the end, I’m a PC person, I’m a keyboard person… and I’m a multi-windows person… and I’m a big-screen person… whatever…
so, I didn’t quite used Journalized…
then, I started to put my notes/journal/diary, into words, ya, the very conventional words, but opensourced.. ie. At the moment, #libreoffice,
it’s portable, though.. not syncable, but then again, I’m not looking for something syncable anyway, sometimes… it just get out of control, haha…
and when I travel? Or when my PC (be it windows, or linux) is not with me,
again, come another problem,
I’ve tried using dropbox to carry my “file” around, however, I don’t quite like it…
then, I used evernote to temporarily to write something…
again, I don’t quite like it, though it’s convenient, it’s just that… em… to my taste, it’s slightly “bloated”, I mean using evernote…
well, I’m still using it, on and off, for other purpose, not really for writing my diary… and I still love it as it is, ie. Useful… very useful…
and I ditched the idea of using dropbox to carry the file around…
then… lately, I found a new thing, which, I think is the ultimate solution to my needs…
ie. #google sheets, and #google docs,
well, I’ve been using all cloud storage all these while, it’s good for sharing docs, and photos, especially after a trip, with friends, with family and so on…
and just lately, google has put up these docs/sheets apps on idevice, yeh!!! it’s just so “my choice”… and my ultimate choice..
so, now, whenever I’m on the move,
if I need to write or jot down anything, I use these 2… ^_^

One thought on “In the end… it’s still… #google, ^_^

  1. Not really likes Google docs and sheets. Feel that the interface too complex, comparing to a plain text editor, yet there are not much functions. Doing macro work is not easy like Libre/OpenOffice.
    If just to do simple recording, plain text editor is better.
    To do the complex style and formatting, LibreOffice is better.
    I will only use it for one purpose, which cannot be done by plain text editor or the LibreOffice, that is, real-time collaboration.

Leave a Reply

