Notes Taking


I used to “love” MS OneNote a lot a lot…
(yes in a way, I still do, but you know how much you need to pay for the whole MS Office Suite right??)
it’s just designed in a way, as if you’re taking notes with your conventional notebook (those professional types, with pink/blue tags on top and bla bla bla…)
and the look’s really interesting and easy to use…
what more to say, you don’t have to click “save”, and you can just put any pictures you like, anything… it’ll appear just as how you expect it to look like, as if you’re doing it handwrittenly…
anyway…
so, when I kinda moved to linux (ie. ubuntu, as of now… or probably for a while),
I was searching inside out, upside down, for a similar replacement,
I went to “lifehacker“, “mashable” repeatedly in a hope to find some resolution, but nah… nothing…
the best is still… MS OneNote… (yak!!! and that’s how ironic life is…)
then, I started to try to use Evernote
yes, Evernote…
I’d an account with this apps, the free type, but I’ve never really bothered to explore the feature, cos, whatever it is, I still tend to compare whatever I could find, with MS OneNote…
and there you go… you know, nothing can beat MS OneNote… (in my opinion)
but then… I kinda… made myself “having to” juggle between 2 desktops, ie. my windows, and my ubuntu…
and maybe sometimes, my iOs…
the common thing between all these 3, is Evernote…
so, I gave it a try…
and now, I do find it very very very, indeed… very convenient…
though, in ubuntu’s, I still need to rely on the web… however, it delivers…
whenever I go to my windows desktop, I can just sync it to my desktop Evernote,
or, whenever I use my little iPod, or my bigger iPad… Evernote’s always there, for me to take note…
THAT, YOU~~~ MICROSOFT, will not be able to deliver… for FREE!!! wa hahahahahaha!!! go to hell, MS!
I take note,
whenever I look for recipe, it can either be on my desktops, windows, ubuntu,
or my iPad, or my iPod… seriously, whatever’s in my household…
Evernote’s there…
tell me, if it’s not useful!!!
(though the look and feel may “loose” to MS OneNote…)
8 thoughts on “Notes Taking

    1. basket notes, I’ve tried, frankly, I’ve tried whatever I could find, but nothing near…
      if one day, MS will be acquired, or whatever (somehow I hope, they’re just too big, and expensive…) there’ll be one thing that’s irreplaceable, ie. their office suite, or at least, their OneNote.
      ^_^

  1. There is a Linux version, called NixNote (formerly NeverNote). I used it before, but finally give up, several reason, 60M limitation for free account and also Windows version program interface is not good.

    I personally have a habit to record all what I learn in the document files. This habit is inspired by the usage of EverNote. Since my own learning log is increasing, so, I am planning to develop a web-based personally used application with database to store all these learning log. This is to solve my own searching problem. Still on the progress.

    1. used before, laoya la…
      used doc as recording before, but then, in the end, it’s lengthy… you know, i don’t like to scroll down, and it’s difficult to keep track of the date, and search, cos, i’m very particular about timestamp.. haha!
      evernote’s still the best, wait till you’re like me, got so many device to handle, you’ll know how good it is, even MS OneNote (though its interface win) still can’t beat it!

      1. then, you use any notepad can liao ma!!
        told you, wait till you’ve too many device to sync…
        cos, i don’t like to save things inside portable drive, for eg. thumb drive…

      2. sure enough la…
        so far, haven’t touched the quota yet…
        that’s why it’s good… so far so good, can share everything among ajie’s devices, ipod, ipad, android, windows desktop, ubuntu desktop, aiyo! what else can ajie ask for… 🙂
        very good to sync everything and see everything together, in almost everywhere, hahahahaha!!
        cos, have not been loading pictures, or any big files, just text mainly, so, ok ma!

Leave a Reply

